California librarian salaries by employer, 2025

5,154 people worked as librarians for 239 cities, counties, library districts, universities, colleges and state departments in California in 2025. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $108,032.

What is the average librarian salary in California?

Lowest-paying employer

$65,037

San Bernardino County
County government

Average total pay, full-year California librarians1

$108,032

average base pay $104,319

Highest-paying employer

$176,731

South Orange County Community College District
Community college district in Orange County

Highest- and lowest-paying among the 73 employers with at least 10 full-year librarians. The lists below include every employer with at least 5.

Librarians
5,154
3,367 of them worked the full year
Employers
239
177 with 5 or more librarians, in 33 counties
Median total pay
$104,981
the middle librarian: half earned more, half less
Overtime
$618
average per full-year librarian

Employers also paid an average of $17,358 into pensions and $16,769 for health, dental and vision cover per full-year librarian, on top of wages.1

What stands out in California librarian pay

Which California employers pay librarians the most?

By average total pay of full-year librarians, among employers with at least 5 of them.

Highest librarian salaries in California: the top employers by total pay, base pay and starting salary

Highest librarian starting salaries in California: every employer compared

Compare librarian pay at every California employer

Official pay range across each employer's librarian titles, what full-year librarians earned, and where most of them work. Library assistants aren't in these figures. Click a column to sort it.

Showing 1 to 25 of 177 employers, highest average total pay first.

MiraCosta Community College DistrictSan Diego CountySan Diego$199,870Community college$113,021 to $208,625202% at 62
West Valley-Mission Community College DistrictSanta Clara CountySanta Clara$179,503Community college$92,684 to $224,244152% at 60
South Orange County Community College DistrictOrange CountyOrange$176,731Community college$40,124 to $179,810272% at 62
Coast Community College DistrictOrange CountyOrange$170,910Community college$66,899 to $159,488172% at 60
Rancho Santiago Community College DistrictOrange CountyOrange$164,507Community college$7,645 to $88,494182% at 62
San Jose-Evergreen Community College DistrictSanta Clara CountySanta Clara$161,981Community college$107,213 to $166,09282% at 60
San Joaquin Delta Community College DistrictSan Joaquin CountySan Joaquin$156,646Community college$49,508 to $134,36972% at 62
Los Angeles Community College DistrictLos Angeles CountyLos Angeles$156,383Community college$76,960 to $160,890452% at 62
Sequoias Community College DistrictTulare CountyTulare$152,715Community college$88,544 to $167,8325Not reported
Sonoma County Junior College DistrictSonoma CountySonoma$140,888Community college$86,901 to $162,662102% at 60
Los Rios Community College DistrictSacramento CountySacramento$136,991Community college$55,958 to $143,927502% at 62
Mt. San Jacinto Community College DistrictRiverside CountyRiverside$136,746Community college$46,788 to $168,673102% at 62
Chabot-Las Positas Community College DistrictAlameda CountyAlameda$135,480Community college$79,370 to $151,686192% at 55
Glendale Community College DistrictLos Angeles CountyLos Angeles$129,600Community college$1,276 to $144,366162% at 62
University of California, Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara CountySanta Barbara$128,598University$77,631 to $159,38035Not reported
University of California, San DiegoSan Diego CountySan Diego$127,949University$77,631 to $159,38052Not reported
San Mateo County Community College DistrictSan Mateo CountySan Mateo$127,222Community college$96,060 to $156,75682% at 60
University of California, San FranciscoSan Francisco CountySan Francisco$126,626University$77,631 to $159,38012Not reported
San FranciscoSan Francisco CountySan Francisco$126,067Public library$102,024 to $151,3982882.3% at 65
University of California, BerkeleyAlameda CountyAlameda$125,309University$73,602 to $159,38088Not reported
University of California, Santa CruzSanta Cruz CountySanta Cruz$125,177University$69,781 to $159,38025Not reported
California State University, Long BeachLos Angeles CountyLos Angeles$123,836University$75,456 to $209,88022Not reported
Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College DistrictSan Diego CountySan Diego$123,719Community college$82,979 to $148,457152% at 62
San JoseSanta Clara CountySanta Clara$123,477Public library$93,300 to $150,6521142% at 62
University of California, Los AngelesLos Angeles CountyLos Angeles$123,403University$69,781 to $159,380121Not reported

"Fewer than 5": fewer than 5 librarians worked the full year, too few for an average. "Not reported": the employer reported no pay range, so we can't tell who worked the full year. Employers with fewer than 5 librarians aren't listed. The University of California reported its librarians' ranges as zero, so its campuses' ranges come from the University's librarian salary scales in force at the start of 2025.

California librarian and library assistant salaries

Every public employer in California, 2025. Library assistants have their own page. Range: the middle reported bottom and top of each group's official ranges. Pay: full-year staff.1

Library staffPositionsOfficial rangeAverage total pay
Librarians5,154Varies by employer$108,032
Library assistants7,774$50,112 to $66,000$68,589

Do academic librarians earn more than public librarians in California?

Librarians by where they work, from the employer and each title and department: a county's law library, a state prison's library or a city's public library. Pay: average total pay of full-year librarians.1

Where they workPositionsFull yearAverage total pay
Public library3,7342,346$103,023
University831706$117,817
Community college441198$145,133
Prison or state hospital7560$86,442
State Library3329$76,792
Law library2615$109,796
State agency1413$82,651

University: the University of California and California State University campuses; the University of California's ranges come from its librarian salary scales.2 Prison or state hospital: the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, Correctional Health Care Services and the Department of State Hospitals. Law library: county law libraries, the Courts of Appeal and the Judicial Center Library.

Which California jobs count as librarians here, and which don't?

The State Controller's files list every public job by title. We decided each library title by hand, from its name and department.

Counted as librarians

  • Librarians at every level. Librarian I to V, Senior Librarian and specialist titles such as Children's or Reference Librarian, at city and county libraries and library districts.
  • University and college librarians. The University of California's assistant, associate and full librarians, California State University librarians and community college librarians.
  • Librarians at state departments and law libraries. Prison librarians at the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, the State Library's librarians and county and court law librarians.
  • Part-time and adjunct librarians. In every headcount; never in pay figures, whatever they were paid.

Shown separately or left out

  • Library assistants, technicians, associates and clerks. In the table above, with their own page, not in the librarian figures.
  • Supervising and principal librarians, branch heads, managers and directors. Their titles mean different jobs at different employers. A plain Librarian title used for a library's head (San Anselmo) is left out too.
  • Pages, aides, shelvers, students, interns and substitutes.
  • School librarians. School employers report to the State Controller voluntarily, for an earlier year, and many school librarians are paid on the teacher salary schedule.

Every California employer with a librarian pay page, by county

177 employers with at least 5 librarians. Open a county to see its employers. Employers without an average had fewer than 5 full-year librarians, or their records don't show who worked the full year. The map shades each county by the average total pay of full-year librarians across its employers; click a county to open its list.

Average total pay, full-year librarians, 2025under $93,000$93,000 to $99,000$99,000 to $106,000$106,000 to $111,000$111,000 or moreLeft outNo employer in the dataEach shade holds about a fifth of the counties. Outlines: US Census Bureau.

Questions about librarian pay in California

How much do librarians make in California?

Librarians in California's public jobs who worked the full year earned an average of $108,032 in 2025. The middle librarian earned $104,981: half earned more, half less. These figures cover public libraries, universities, colleges and state departments, not school librarians.

How much does a library assistant make in California?

Full-year library assistants, technicians and clerks at California public employers averaged $68,589 in 2025, on a middle official range of $50,112 to $66,000.

What is the starting salary for a librarian in California?

It depends on the employer. Across the 90 public employers that report a range for their plain Librarian or Librarian I title, the middle starting salary is $73,707 a year: the bottom of the range. Full-year librarians in level I titles averaged $94,412 in total pay.

Which California public employer pays librarians the most?

Among employers with at least 10 full-year librarians, South Orange County Community College District has the highest average total pay, $176,731, followed by Coast Community College District ($170,910) and Los Angeles Community College District ($156,383).

Which California employers have the most librarians?

Los Angeles (595 librarians), Los Angeles County (304) and San Francisco (288), counting librarian positions held in 2025, without library assistants.

Sources for the California librarian figures

Every person who held a librarian position at any point in 2025 counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked roughly the full year: those whose regular pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their official range. Total pay is gross wages before tax, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.

  1. State Controller's Office, Government Compensation in California, 2025: positions, official pay ranges, wages, pension formulas and employer contributions as reported by each city, county and special district.
  2. University of California Office of the President, Academic Salary Scales 2024-25, Table 26B: Represented Librarian Series: annual salary steps for assistant, associate and full librarians, effective November 1, 2024.
  3. University of California Office of the President, Academic Salary Scales 2024-25, Table 26A: Non-Represented Librarian Series: annual salary steps for librarians outside the union, effective July 1, 2024.

How we read the data