California registered nurse salaries by employer, 2025
64,231 people worked as registered nurses for 123 public employers in California in 2025. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $181,164, overtime included.
What is the average registered nurse salary in California?
Highest-paying employer
$246,392
University of California, San Francisco
University of California campus
Highest- and lowest-paying among the 60 employers with at least 10 full-year registered nurses. The lists below include every employer with at least 5.
- Registered nurses
- 64,231
- 36,770 of them worked the full year
- Employers
- 123
- 101 with 5 or more registered nurses, in 51 counties
- Median total pay
- $172,678
- the middle registered nurse: half earned more, half less
- Overtime
- $13,085
- average per full-year registered nurse
Employers also paid an average of $18,747 into pensions and $17,157 for health, dental and vision cover per full-year registered nurse, on top of wages.1
What stands out in California registered nurse pay
The University of California employs 38% of California's public registered nurses.
24,188 of the 64,231 registered nurse positions are at its campuses, where full-year nurses averaged $246,392 at UC San Francisco, $200,401 at UC Davis and $185,774 at UC Irvine. The University of California reported no ranges, so its campuses' ranges come from its contract with the California Nurses Association: the wage tables effective January 2025.3
Overtime adds an average of $13,085 a year.
Full-year registered nurses in California's public jobs had an average base pay of $155,445 and an average total pay of $181,164. Overtime is uneven: the middle nurse was paid $5,477, while some work far more and pull the average up.1
Nurses in jails and juvenile halls average $191,798, more than county and district hospital nurses ($158,384).
By where they work, full-year registered nurses averaged $191,798 in jails and juvenile halls, $160,251 in state hospitals, $158,853 in state prisons and $158,384 in hospitals. Each setting's figure depends on which employers run it: the table below names how many nurses stand behind each.1
Depending on the employer, average total pay runs from $100,528 to $246,392.
That's the range across the 60 employers with at least 10 full-year registered nurses. Nurses at the best-paying one earn more than twice what those at the lowest-paying one do.1
Nurse practitioners average $232,328, LVNs $90,412.
Both are counted on their own, outside every registered nurse figure on this page: 3,754 nurse practitioner and 7,128 LVN positions.1
The three best-paying counties are all in the Bay Area.
By county, the average total pay of registered nurses across local public employers is highest in San Francisco, Santa Clara and Contra Costa counties ($244,709, $242,999 and $207,342), all part of the Bay Area2. State departments and UC Davis aren't in county figures: their nurses are compared with the whole state.
Which California employers pay registered nurses the most?
By average total pay of full-year registered nurses, among employers with at least 5 of them.
Highest average total pay
- University of California, San FranciscoUniversity of California campus
3,484 full-year registered nurses$246,392 - Santa Clara CountyCounty government; most in a health system
1,889 full-year registered nurses$242,999 - San FranciscoCity government; most in a health system
1,470 full-year registered nurses$240,719 - Alameda Health SystemHealth care district in Alameda County; most in hospitals
858 full-year registered nurses$234,717 - Contra Costa CountyCounty government; most in hospitals
615 full-year registered nurses$207,342 - San Mateo CountyCounty government; most in hospitals
316 full-year registered nurses$203,980 - University of California, DavisUniversity of California campus
2,633 full-year registered nurses$200,401 - San Benito Health Care DistrictHealth care district in San Benito County; most in hospitals
55 full-year registered nurses$195,149 - Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare DistrictHealth care district in Monterey County; most in hospitals
285 full-year registered nurses$187,968 - University of California, IrvineUniversity of California campus
2,898 full-year registered nurses$185,774
California average, $181,164
Highest registered nurse starting salaries in California: every employer compared
Compare registered nurse pay at every California employer
Official pay range across each employer's registered nurse titles, what full-year nurses earned, and where most of them work. Nurse practitioners and LVNs aren't in these figures. Click a column to sort it.
Showing 1 to 25 of 101 employers, highest average total pay first.
| University of California, San FranciscoSan Francisco County | San Francisco | $246,392 | $11,665 | University health system | $177,042 to $264,591 | 6,036 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Santa Clara CountySanta Clara County | Santa Clara | $242,999 | $16,296 | Health system | $146,474 to $264,530 | 4,345 |
| San FranciscoSan Francisco County | San Francisco | $240,719 | $15,418 | Health system | $168,142 to $225,082 | 2,365 |
| Alameda Health SystemAlameda County | Alameda | $234,717 | $28,421 | Hospital | $117,777 to $258,613 | 1,611 |
| Contra Costa CountyContra Costa County | Contra Costa | $207,342 | $8,515 | Hospital | $155,797 to $225,782 | 1,306 |
| San Mateo CountySan Mateo County | San Mateo | $203,980 | $11,854 | Hospital | $149,594 to $194,147 | 544 |
| University of California, DavisStatewide | Statewide | $200,401 | $9,064 | University health system | $146,598 to $257,555 | 3,798 |
| San Benito Health Care DistrictSan Benito County | San Benito | $195,149 | $25,724 | Hospital | $136,614 to $215,176 | 145 |
| Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare DistrictMonterey County | Monterey | $187,968 | $10,372 | Hospital | $118,061 to $242,050 | 754 |
| University of California, IrvineOrange County | Orange | $185,774 | $15,129 | University health system | $130,646 to $194,622 | 4,542 |
| San Joaquin CountySan Joaquin County | San Joaquin | $183,905 | $21,379 | Hospital | $110,556 to $177,433 | 1,131 |
| Monterey CountyMonterey County | Monterey | $178,346 | $12,869 | Hospital | $112,688 to $195,262 | 656 |
| Alameda CountyAlameda County | Alameda | $176,849 | $2,054 | Public health | $118,997 to $218,130 | 132 |
| University of California, Los AngelesLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $175,376 | $7,990 | University health system | $122,044 to $215,335 | 5,136 |
| University of California, San DiegoSan Diego County | San Diego | $172,285 | $6,387 | University health system | $126,408 to $204,937 | 4,626 |
| Marin CountyMarin County | Marin | $167,321 | $6,416 | Behavioral health | $120,682 to $195,374 | 55 |
| Washington Township Health Care DistrictAlameda County | Alameda | $166,945 | $8,900 | Hospital | $147,576 to $271,443 | 944 |
| California Department of State HospitalsStatewide | Statewide | $160,251 | $36,063 | State hospital | $114,120 to $153,024 | 1,850 |
| California Department of Corrections and RehabilitationStatewide | Statewide | $159,562 | $27,883 | State prison | $119,820 to $177,144 | 2,013 |
| Sacramento CountySacramento County | Sacramento | $158,744 | $12,123 | Jail or juvenile hall | $101,602 to $167,395 | 266 |
| Ventura CountyVentura County | Ventura | $158,583 | $13,714 | Health system | $63,808 to $246,891 | 996 |
| San Diego CountySan Diego County | San Diego | $158,228 | $21,335 | Jail or juvenile hall | $96,242 to $139,464 | 649 |
| California Correctional Health Care ServicesStatewide | Statewide | $156,532 | $26,948 | State prison | $119,820 to $160,680 | 604 |
| Sonoma CountySonoma County | Sonoma | $156,408 | $3,894 | Public health | $120,907 to $163,839 | 70 |
| Los AngelesLos Angeles County | Los Angeles | $154,840 | $15,854 | Other | $89,408 to $143,341 | 96 |
No employer matches. Clear the search or pick another county or size.
"Fewer than 5": fewer than 5 registered nurses worked the full year, too few for an average. "Not reported": the employer reported no pay range, so we can't tell who worked the full year. "Left out": the employer's records don't show who worked the full year (each person's own pay reported as their range, or total pay reported as salary), so we set its pay figures aside. Employers with fewer than 5 registered nurses aren't listed. The University of California reported no ranges, so its campuses' ranges come from its contract with the California Nurses Association: the wage tables effective January 2025.
California public nurse pay: registered nurses, nurse practitioners and LVNs
Every public employer in California, 2025. Nurse practitioners and LVNs each have their own page. Range: the middle reported bottom and top of each group's official ranges. Pay: full-year staff, overtime included.1
| Nurses | Positions | Official range | Average total pay | Average overtime |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Registered nurses | 64,231 | Varies by employer | $181,164 | $13,085 |
| Nurse practitioners | 3,754 | $183,097 to $241,623 | $232,328 | $10,603 |
| LVNs | 7,128 | $70,498 to $80,184 | $90,412 | $10,278 |
Do California nurses earn more in hospitals, prisons or public health?
Registered nurses by where they work, from each title and department: a "Public Health Nurse" or a nurse in a sheriff's department says where the job is. Where a county's health agency doesn't say whether a nurse works in its hospital or its clinics, the nurse counts under health system. Pay: average total pay of full-year nurses, overtime included.1
| Where they work | Positions | Full year | Average total pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| University health system | 24,142 | 14,847 | $197,901 |
| Hospital | 20,542 | 9,847 | $158,384 |
| Health system | 7,793 | 3,887 | $225,483 |
| State prison | 2,617 | 1,903 | $158,853 |
| Public health | 2,339 | 1,856 | $144,049 |
| Clinic | 1,914 | 1,375 | $143,828 |
| State hospital | 1,850 | 1,168 | $160,251 |
| Jail or juvenile hall | 1,617 | 1,114 | $191,798 |
| Behavioral health | 790 | 470 | $155,061 |
| Other | 334 | 123 | $162,962 |
| Veterans home | 241 | 160 | $144,657 |
| University campus | 52 | 20 | $139,916 |
University health system: the six University of California campuses with an academic health center.4 University campus: the other campuses' nurses. Health system: city and county health agencies whose departments don't say hospital or clinic.
Which California jobs count as registered nurses here, and which don't?
The State Controller's files list every public job by title. We decided each nursing title by hand, from its name and department.
Counted as registered nurses
- Staff and clinical nurses at every level. Registered Nurse I to V, Clinical Nurse, Staff Nurse and the University of California's Clin Nurse 1 to 4, in every unit.
- Charge nurses and lead nurses. They work shifts on the unit, so they stay with staff nurses.
- Public health, psychiatric, correctional and detention nurses. Each labeled by where they work.
- Per diem and relief nurses. In every headcount; in pay figures only when they worked a full year.
Shown separately or left out
- Nurse practitioners and LVNs. In the table above, each with its own page, not in the registered nurse figures.
- Supervisors, nurse managers and directors. Their titles mean different jobs at different employers.
- Nursing assistants, nurse techs and student nurses. They aren't registered nurses.
- Nurse educators, case managers, utilization reviewers, navigators, infection prevention and quality staff. Nursing jobs away from patient care, and health plan nurses (Inland Empire Health Plan).
- Nurse anesthetists, midwives and clinical nurse specialists. Specialist jobs with their own pay.
- School nurses. School employers report to the State Controller voluntarily, for an earlier year.
- Private hospitals and clinics. Kaiser, Sutter, Dignity Health, Stanford and other private employers don't report their pay to the State Controller.
Every California employer with a registered nurse pay page, by county
101 employers with at least 5 registered nurses. Open a county to see its employers. Employers without an average had fewer than 5 full-year registered nurses, or their records don't show who worked the full year. The map shades each county by the average total pay of full-year registered nurses across its employers; click a county to open its list.
Alameda County
5 employers, $200,120- Alameda County$176,849
- Alameda Health System$234,717
- BerkeleyFewer than 5
- University of California, Berkeley$149,474
- Washington Township Health Care District$166,945
Contra Costa County
1 employer, $207,342- Contra Costa County$207,342
Humboldt County
2 employers, $109,295- Humboldt County$109,295
- Southern Humboldt Community Healthcare DistrictNot reported
Imperial County
3 employers, $111,400- Imperial County$95,597
- Imperial Valley Healthcare DistrictFewer than 5
- Pioneers Memorial Hospital DistrictFewer than 5
Inyo County
3 employers, $130,007- Inyo CountyFewer than 5
- Northern Inyo Healthcare District$132,872
- Southern Inyo Healthcare DistrictNot reported
Kern County
5 employers, $137,969- Kern County$143,230
- Kern County Hospital Authority$137,128
- Kern Valley Hospital DistrictLeft out
- North Kern-South Tulare Hospital DistrictNot reported
- West Side Health Care DistrictNot reported
Los Angeles County
5 employers, $155,869- Antelope Valley Healthcare District$137,968
- Long Beach$123,628
- Los Angeles$154,840
- Los Angeles County$145,756
- University of California, Los Angeles$175,376
Mariposa County
2 employers- John C. Fremont Healthcare DistrictNot reported
- Mariposa CountyFewer than 5
Modoc County
2 employers, $160,162- Last Frontier Health District$150,206
- Modoc CountyFewer than 5
Mono County
1 employer, $140,145Monterey County
4 employers, $182,865- Community Human ServicesFewer than 5
- Monterey County$178,346
- Salinas Valley Memorial Healthcare District$187,968
- Soledad Community Health Care DistrictFewer than 5
Orange County
3 employers, $182,207- AnaheimFewer than 5
- Orange County$146,684
- University of California, Irvine$185,774
Plumas County
4 employers, $121,889- Eastern Plumas Health Care District$131,099
- Plumas CountyFewer than 5
- Plumas Hospital District$123,815
- Seneca Hospital DistrictNot reported
Sacramento County
2 employers, $156,897- Sacramento County$158,744
- Schools Insurance Authority$110,744
San Benito County
1 employer, $189,634- San Benito Health Care District$195,149
San Bernardino County
3 employers, $138,514- Bear Valley Community Healthcare District$119,332
- Consolidated Fire AgenciesFewer than 5
- San Bernardino County$138,923
San Diego County
4 employers, $165,443- Palomar Health District$147,408
- San Diego County$158,228
- Tri-City Healthcare District$130,343
- University of California, San Diego$172,285
San Francisco County
2 employers, $244,709- San Francisco$240,719
- University of California, San Francisco$246,392
San Joaquin County
1 employer, $183,905- San Joaquin County$183,905
San Luis Obispo County
1 employer, $116,809- San Luis Obispo County$116,809
Santa Barbara County
3 employers, $120,448- Lompoc Hospital District$116,362
- Santa Barbara County$130,440
- University of California, Santa Barbara$114,131
Santa Clara County
1 employer, $242,999- Santa Clara County$242,999
Santa Cruz County
2 employers, $144,061- Santa Cruz County$144,769
- University of California, Santa CruzFewer than 5
Shasta County
2 employers, $100,285- Mayers Memorial Hospital DistrictNot reported
- Shasta County$100,528
Sonoma County
2 employers, $142,166- Sonoma County$156,408
- Sonoma Valley Healthcare District$126,342
Stanislaus County
2 employers, $119,299- Oak Valley Hospital District$117,836
- Stanislaus County$120,232
Statewide
8 employers- California Correctional Health Care Services$156,532
- California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation$159,562
- California Department of Developmental Services$134,907
- California Department of Education$108,432
- California Department of State Hospitals$160,251
- California Department of Veterans Affairs$144,657
- California Emergency Medical Services AuthorityFewer than 5
- University of California, Davis$200,401
Trinity County
1 employerTulare County
3 employers, $125,259- Kaweah Delta Health Care District$124,228
- Sierra View Local Health Care District$136,946
- Tulare County$103,125
Questions about registered nurse pay in California
How much do nurses make in California?
Registered nurses in California's public jobs who worked the full year earned an average of $181,164 in 2025, including $13,085 in overtime. The middle nurse earned $172,678: half earned more, half less. These figures cover public employers only, not private hospitals.
Do these figures include Kaiser and other private hospitals?
No. They cover nurses who work for public employers: the University of California, county and city governments, health care districts and state departments. Private hospitals and clinics don't report their pay to the State Controller.
How much does a nurse practitioner make in California?
Full-year nurse practitioners at California public employers averaged $232,328 in 2025, overtime included, on a middle official range of $183,097 to $241,623.
How much does an LVN make in California?
Full-year licensed vocational nurses at California public employers averaged $90,412 in 2025, overtime included, on a middle official range of $70,498 to $80,184.
What is the starting salary for a new nurse in California?
It depends on the employer. Across the 64 public employers that report a range for their staff nurse title, the middle starting salary is $95,483 a year: the bottom of the range. Full-year nurses in level I titles (Clinical Nurse I, Registered Nurse I) averaged $132,595 in total pay.
Which California public employer pays nurses the most?
Among employers with at least 10 full-year registered nurses, University of California, San Francisco has the highest average total pay, $246,392, followed by Santa Clara County ($242,999) and San Francisco ($240,719).
How much more do experienced nurses earn?
Titles with levels show it: full-year nurses in level I titles averaged $132,595, in level II $184,632 and in level III $205,827. Each employer sets its own levels, so the table on each employer's page is the closer guide.
Sources for the California registered nurse figures
Every person who held a registered nurse position at any point in 2025 counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked roughly the full year: those whose regular pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their official range. Total pay is gross wages before tax, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.
- State Controller's Office, Government Compensation in California, 2025: positions, official pay ranges, wages, pension formulas and employer contributions as reported by each city, county and special district.
- Association of Bay Area Governments, Our Members: the nine Bay Area counties.
- University of California and California Nurses Association, Registered Nurses (NX) contract, Appendix A: wage tables: each campus's hourly rates effective January 2025, lowest to highest step; yearly figures are the hourly rate times 2,088 hours, the tables' monthly rate times 12.
- University of California Health, Academic Health Centers: the six campuses with an academic health center (Davis, Irvine, Los Angeles, Riverside, San Diego and San Francisco).