University of California, Irvine (UCI) registered nurse salary, 2025
University of California, Irvine is a campus of the University of California with an academic health center.3 4,542 people worked as registered nurses for University of California, Irvine in 2025. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $185,774, overtime included.
What is the average registered nurse salary at University of California, Irvine?
Official pay range2
$130,646 to $194,622
from the lowest entry salary to the top of the highest registered nurse title, per diem rates aside
Based on the 2,898 of 4,542 registered nurses who worked the full year.
Most of University of California, Irvine's registered nurses (3,527 of 4,542) hold the title Clin Nurse 2, with an official range of $133,903 to $176,645. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $181,007, $4,362 above the top of the range.
- Median total pay
- $178,036
- the middle registered nurse: half earned more, half less
- Overtime
- $15,129
- average per full-year registered nurse
- Starting salary
- $130,646
- bottom of the Clin Nurse 1 range
- Average pay rank
- 10th
- of 72 California employers
What does each registered nurse title at University of California, Irvine pay?
Each bar is the official range for one title, lowest first. The dot marks the average total pay of full-year staff in that title, where at least 5 people stand behind it.1,2 The University of California reported no ranges to the State Controller, so the ranges here are the campus's wage tables in its contract with the California Nurses Association, effective January 2025: the lowest to the highest step, before shift and other differentials. Vocational nurses and other titles outside that contract have no range.
- Clin Nurse 1Fewer than 5
- Clin Nurse 2$181,007
- Clin Nurse 3$196,940
- Clin Nurse 4$223,997
- Nurse PdFewer than 5
- Registered Nurse Lom-GNot reported
- Registered Nurse Lak-1Not reported
- Clin Nurse Or Adv Pract Spec 4Not reported
official range average total pay, full year. "Fewer than 5" means too few full-year people in that title to show.
Nurse practitioner and LVN pay at University of California, Irvine
Counted on their own, kept out of the registered nurse figures on this page. Each group's name leads to its statewide overview. Range: the lowest to the highest step of the campus's contract wage tables, effective January 2025. Pay: average total pay of full-year staff, overtime included.1,2
| Nurses | People | Official range | Average total pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered nurses | 4,542 | $130,646 to $194,622 | $185,774 |
| Nurse practitioners | 187 | $178,482 to $235,380 | $229,737 |
| LVNs | 130 | Not reported | Not reported |
Full-year nurse practitioners averaged $229,737, $43,963 more than registered nurses.
Does University of California, Irvine pay registered nurses more than other employers in Orange County?
Average total pay of full-year registered nurses: University of California, Irvine next to every employer in the county together, and the whole state.1
- University of California, Irvine$185,774
- All employers in Orange County$182,207
- All employers in California$181,164
Full-year registered nurses at University of California, Irvine earned $3,567 more than the Orange County average and $4,610 more than the California average.
Average registered nurse pay in Orange County compared to nearby counties
Average total pay of full-year registered nurses across all employers in each county that borders Orange County, and how much more or less it pays.1
- San Diego County$165,443 average, 4 employers$16,764 less than Orange County
- Los Angeles County$155,869 average, 5 employers$26,338 less than Orange County
- Riverside County$150,366 average, 1 employer$31,841 less than Orange County
- San Bernardino County$138,514 average, 3 employers$43,693 less than Orange County
Where does University of California, Irvine rank among California employers?
Every employer with at least 5 full-year registered nurses, by average total pay.1
All 72 California employers
University of California, Irvine ranks 10th of 72, above the middle employer.
Middle employer: $138,446
Each bar counts the employers whose average total pay falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the middle employer.
Pension and health cover at University of California, Irvine
As reported by the university. Contributions are what the employer paid per full-year registered nurse, on top of wages.1
- Pension formula
- Not reported
- the most common formula among University of California, Irvine's registered nurses
- Employer pension contribution
- $13,030
- average per year
- Health, dental and vision
- $14,551
- average paid by the employer per year
Questions about registered nurse pay at University of California, Irvine
What is the average registered nurse salary at University of California, Irvine?
Registered nurses at University of California, Irvine who worked the full year earned an average of $185,774 in 2025, overtime included. The middle registered nurse earned $178,036: half earned more, half less. The official pay range across its registered nurse titles runs from $130,646 to $194,622.
How much overtime do registered nurses at University of California, Irvine earn?
Full-year registered nurses were paid an average of $15,129 in overtime in 2025. The middle one was paid $9,701: a few people with a lot of overtime pull the average up.
What is the starting salary for a registered nurse at UCI?
$130,646 a year: the bottom of the range for University of California, Irvine's Clin Nurse 1 title in the University of California's contract wage tables effective January 2025. Pay rises with steps and overtime; full-year registered nurses averaged $185,774 in total pay.
How much does a nurse practitioner make at UCI?
Full-year nurse practitioners at University of California, Irvine averaged $229,737 in total pay in 2025, overtime included, on an official range of $178,482 to $235,380.
More salaries in Orange County
Sources for the University of California, Irvine figures
Every person who held a registered nurse position at University of California, Irvine at any point in 2025 counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked roughly the full year: those whose regular pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their official range. Total pay is gross wages before tax, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Averages lead; the median total pay is the middle person's, with half above and half below, and is less pulled by a few people with very high pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.
- State Controller's Office, Government Compensation in California, 2025: positions, wages, pension formula and employer contributions as reported by the University of California for University of California, Irvine.
- University of California and California Nurses Association, Registered Nurses (NX) contract, Appendix A: wage tables: each campus's hourly rates effective January 2025, lowest to highest step; yearly figures are the hourly rate times 2,088 hours, the tables' monthly rate times 12.
- University of California Health, Academic Health Centers: the six campuses with an academic health center: UC Davis, Irvine, Los Angeles, Riverside, San Diego and San Francisco.