Georgia librarian salaries by employer, 2025

2,385 people worked as librarians for 178 school districts and the Fulton County Library System in Georgia in 2025 (the fiscal year from July 2024 for school districts, the calendar year for Fulton County). Those who worked the full year earned an average of $82,713.

What is the average librarian salary in Georgia?

Lowest-paying employer

$61,458

Muscogee County School District
School district in Muscogee County, fiscal 2025

Average total pay, full-year Georgia librarians1,2

$82,713

overtime included

Highest-paying employer

$111,130

Atlanta Public Schools
School district in Fulton County, fiscal 2025

Highest- and lowest-paying among the 49 employers with at least 10 full-year librarians. The lists below include every employer with at least 5.

Librarians
2,385
1,995 of them worked the full year
Employers
178
100 with 5 or more librarians, in 90 counties
Median total pay
$82,522
the middle librarian: half earned more, half less
Overtime
In total pay
Georgia's file doesn't list it separately

What stands out in Georgia librarian pay

Which Georgia employers pay librarians the most?

By average total pay of full-year librarians, among employers with at least 5 of them.

Highest librarian salaries in Georgia: the top employers by total pay and by county

Compare librarian pay at every Georgia employer

What full-year librarians earned at each employer, and the official range where the employer publishes one. Library assistants aren't in these figures. Click a column to sort it.

Showing 1 to 25 of 100 employers, highest average total pay first.

Atlanta Public SchoolsFulton CountyFulton$111,130fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported65
Bartow County School DistrictBartow CountyBartow$101,712fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported20
Cobb County School DistrictCobb CountyCobb$100,475fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported120
Clayton County School DistrictClayton CountyClayton$96,550fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported69
Fulton County SchoolsFulton CountyFulton$95,667fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported76
Houston County School DistrictHouston CountyHouston$93,869fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported41
DeKalb County School DistrictDeKalb CountyDeKalb$92,667fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported135
Fayette County School DistrictFayette CountyFayette$90,241fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported24
Walton County School DistrictWalton CountyWalton$89,866fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported16
Buford City School DistrictGwinnett CountyGwinnett$89,513fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported5
Paulding County School DistrictPaulding CountyPaulding$88,997fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported37
Cherokee County School DistrictCherokee CountyCherokee$88,604fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported42
Douglas County School DistrictDouglas CountyDouglas$88,332fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported35
Marietta City School DistrictCobb CountyCobb$87,444fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported14
Gwinnett County Public SchoolsGwinnett CountyGwinnett$87,399fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported146
Griffin-Spalding County School DistrictSpalding CountySpalding$86,910fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported18
Coweta County School DistrictCoweta CountyCoweta$86,617fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported35
Liberty County School DistrictLiberty CountyLiberty$86,205fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported15
Newton County School DistrictNewton CountyNewton$85,344fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported24
Henry County School DistrictHenry CountyHenry$84,879fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported55
Bibb County School DistrictBibb CountyBibb$84,525fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported34
Dawson County School DistrictDawson CountyDawson$84,306fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported7
Pickens County School DistrictPickens CountyPickens$84,098fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported7
Hall County School DistrictHall CountyHall$83,991fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported37
Jackson County School DistrictJackson CountyJackson$83,831fiscal 2025School libraryNot reported10

"Fewer than 5": fewer than 5 librarians worked the full year, too few for an average. Employers with fewer than 5 librarians aren't listed.

How reliable are the Georgia librarian figures?

Georgia librarian and library assistant salaries

Every Georgia school district and the Fulton County Library System, 2025 (the fiscal year from July 2024 for school districts, the calendar year for Fulton County). Only Fulton County publishes pay ranges. Pay: full-year staff.1,2

Library staffPositionsOfficial rangeAverage total pay
Librarians2,385Varies by employer$82,713
Library assistants154$41,545 to $80,493$43,076

Do school librarians earn more than public librarians in Georgia?

Librarians by where they work: school library media specialists in every school district, and the Fulton County Library System's librarians. Pay: average total pay of full-year librarians.1,2

Where they workPositionsFull yearAverage total pay
School library2,2721,905$83,268
Public library11390$70,957

Which Georgia jobs count as librarians here, and which don't?

These figures cover library media specialists in every Georgia public school district, from Open Georgia, and the Fulton County Library System, from Fulton County's payroll. We decided each title by hand.

Counted

  • School library media specialists. The state's Librarian/Media Specialist job title, in every school district.
  • Librarians at the Fulton County Library System. Librarian I, Librarian II, Senior Librarian and Principal Librarian.

Shown separately or left out

  • Library assistants and associates. Fulton County's are a group of their own, outside the librarian figures. School library aides aren't counted.
  • Library managers, supervisors and district media directors.
  • University and college librarians, and other Georgia public library systems. Not covered yet.

Every Georgia employer with a librarian pay page, by county

100 employers with at least 5 librarians. Open a county to see its employers. Employers without an average had fewer than 5 full-year librarians, or their records don't show who worked the full year.

Questions about librarian pay in Georgia

How much do librarians make in Georgia?

Full-year librarians at Georgia's school districts and the Fulton County Library System earned an average of $82,713 in total pay in 2025. The middle librarian earned $82,522: half earned more, half less.

How much does a school media specialist make in Georgia?

Library media specialists who worked the whole 2024-25 school year in Georgia's public school districts averaged $83,268 in total pay, supplements included.

How much do Fulton County librarians make?

Full-year librarians at the Fulton County Library System averaged $70,957 in 2025. The county's pay range for Librarian I starts at $55,674.

Which Georgia employer pays librarians the most?

Among employers with at least 10 full-year librarians, Atlanta Public Schools has the highest average total pay, $111,130, followed by Bartow County School District ($101,712) and Cobb County School District ($100,475).

Sources for the Georgia librarian figures

Every person who held a librarian position at any point in 2025 (the fiscal year from July 2024 for school districts, the calendar year for Fulton County) counts toward the headcount. School districts: pay figures use only people the same employer also paid in fiscal 2024 who were paid at least 90% as much in fiscal 2025, and at least a full year at the federal minimum wage. Open Georgia's file has no hours or start dates, so this is the closest sign of a full year. The Department of Audits and Accounts compiles the file and says it has not audited or reviewed it. Fulton County: pay figures use only people who were hired before 2025, were on the county's payroll in 2024 too, were still employed at the end of 2025 and whose base pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their pay range. Total pay is gross wages before tax, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.

  1. Georgia Department of Audits and Accounts, Open Georgia, salaries and travel, fiscal years 2024 and 2025: title and total pay of every school district and state agency employee, July 2024 to June 2025, and the year before to see who worked the full year.
  2. Fulton County Government (GA), Payroll Public Dataset, Share Fulton (CC BY 4.0): title, pay range, base, overtime and total pay and hire date of every Fulton County employee in 2025, and in 2024 to see who was already employed.

How we read the data