University of California, Santa Barbara registered nurse salary, 2025
University of California, Santa Barbara is a campus of the University of California in Santa Barbara County. 6 people worked as registered nurses for University of California, Santa Barbara in 2025. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $114,131.
What is the average registered nurse salary at University of California, Santa Barbara?
Official pay range2
$100,600 to $150,211
from the lowest entry salary to the top of the highest registered nurse title
Based on the 5 of 6 registered nurses who worked the full year.
Most of University of California, Santa Barbara's registered nurses (6 of 6) hold the title Clin Nurse 2, with an official range of $100,600 to $150,211. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $114,131, within the range.
- Median total pay
- $106,892
- the middle registered nurse: half earned more, half less
- Overtime
- $315
- average per full-year registered nurse
- Starting salary
- Not reported
- no official range reported
- Average pay rank
- 59th
- of 72 California employers
What does each registered nurse title at University of California, Santa Barbara pay?
Each bar is the official range for one title, lowest first. The dot marks the average total pay of full-year staff in that title, where at least 5 people stand behind it.1,2 The University of California reported no ranges to the State Controller, so the ranges here are the campus's wage tables in its contract with the California Nurses Association, effective January 2025: the lowest to the highest step, before shift and other differentials. Vocational nurses and other titles outside that contract have no range.
- Clin Nurse 2$114,131
official range average total pay, full year. "Fewer than 5" means too few full-year people in that title to show.
Nurse practitioner pay at University of California, Santa Barbara
Counted on their own, kept out of the registered nurse figures on this page. Each group's name leads to its statewide overview. Range: the lowest to the highest step of the campus's contract wage tables, effective January 2025. Pay: average total pay of full-year staff, overtime included.1,2
| Nurses | People | Official range | Average total pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registered nurses | 6 | $100,600 to $150,211 | $114,131 |
| Nurse practitioners | 7 | $142,924 to $184,913 | $151,308 |
Full-year nurse practitioners averaged $151,308, $37,177 more than registered nurses.
Does University of California, Santa Barbara pay registered nurses more than other employers in Santa Barbara County?
Average total pay of full-year registered nurses: University of California, Santa Barbara next to every employer in the county together, and the whole state.1
- University of California, Santa Barbara$114,131
- All employers in Santa Barbara County$120,448
- All employers in California$181,164
Full-year registered nurses at University of California, Santa Barbara earned $6,317 less than the Santa Barbara County average and $67,033 less than the California average.
Average registered nurse pay in Santa Barbara County compared to nearby counties
Average total pay of full-year registered nurses across all employers in each county that borders Santa Barbara County, and how much more or less it pays.1
Where does University of California, Santa Barbara rank among California employers?
Every employer with at least 5 full-year registered nurses, by average total pay.1
All 72 California employers
University of California, Santa Barbara ranks 59th of 72, below the middle employer.
Middle employer: $138,446
Each bar counts the employers whose average total pay falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the middle employer.
Pension and health cover at University of California, Santa Barbara
As reported by the university. Contributions are what the employer paid per full-year registered nurse, on top of wages.1
- Pension formula
- Not reported
- the most common formula among University of California, Santa Barbara's registered nurses
- Employer pension contribution
- $9,429
- average per year
- Health, dental and vision
- $18,184
- average paid by the employer per year
Questions about registered nurse pay at University of California, Santa Barbara
What is the average registered nurse salary at University of California, Santa Barbara?
Registered nurses at University of California, Santa Barbara who worked the full year earned an average of $114,131 in 2025. The middle registered nurse earned $106,892: half earned more, half less. The official pay range across its registered nurse titles runs from $100,600 to $150,211.
How much overtime do registered nurses at University of California, Santa Barbara earn?
Full-year registered nurses were paid an average of $315 in overtime in 2025. The middle one was paid $0: a few people with a lot of overtime pull the average up.
How much does a nurse practitioner make at University of California, Santa Barbara?
Full-year nurse practitioners at University of California, Santa Barbara averaged $151,308 in total pay in 2025, overtime included, on an official range of $142,924 to $184,913.
More salaries in Santa Barbara County
- Santa Barbara County$130,440 average total pay
- Lompoc Hospital District$116,362 average total pay
- Highest registered nurse salaries in CaliforniaThe best-paying employers, ranked
- Librarian salaries at University of California, Santa Barbara$128,598 average total pay
- Teacher salaries in Santa Barbara CountyEvery school district's salary schedule
Sources for the University of California, Santa Barbara figures
Every person who held a registered nurse position at University of California, Santa Barbara at any point in 2025 counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked roughly the full year: those whose regular pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their official range. Total pay is gross wages before tax, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Averages lead; the median total pay is the middle person's, with half above and half below, and is less pulled by a few people with very high pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.
- State Controller's Office, Government Compensation in California, 2025: positions, wages, pension formula and employer contributions as reported by the University of California for University of California, Santa Barbara.
- University of California and California Nurses Association, Registered Nurses (NX) contract, Appendix A: wage tables: each campus's hourly rates effective January 2025, lowest to highest step; yearly figures are the hourly rate times 2,088 hours, the tables' monthly rate times 12.