University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) registered nurse salary, 2025

University of California, San Francisco is a campus of the University of California with an academic health center.3 6,036 people worked as registered nurses for University of California, San Francisco in 2025. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $246,392, overtime included.

What is the average registered nurse salary at University of California, San Francisco?

Official pay range2

$177,042 to $264,591

from the lowest entry salary to the top of the highest registered nurse title, per diem rates aside

Average total pay, full-year registered nurses1

$246,392

average base pay $213,313

Based on the 3,484 of 6,036 registered nurses who worked the full year.

Most of University of California, San Francisco's registered nurses (4,487 of 6,036) hold the title Clin Nurse 2, with an official range of $185,874 to $240,830. Those who worked the full year earned an average of $242,036, $1,206 above the top of the range.

Median total pay
$239,395
the middle registered nurse: half earned more, half less
Overtime
$11,665
average per full-year registered nurse
Starting salary
$177,042
bottom of the Clin Nurse 1 range
Average pay rank
1st
of 72 California employers

What does each registered nurse title at University of California, San Francisco pay?

Each bar is the official range for one title, lowest first. The dot marks the average total pay of full-year staff in that title, where at least 5 people stand behind it.1,2 The University of California reported no ranges to the State Controller, so the ranges here are the campus's wage tables in its contract with the California Nurses Association, effective January 2025: the lowest to the highest step, before shift and other differentials. Vocational nurses and other titles outside that contract have no range.

  1. Clin Nurse 1$177,042 · fewer than 5 people
    Fewer than 5
  2. Clin Nurse 2$185,874 to $240,830 · 4,487 people
    $242,036
  3. Clin Nurse 3$194,372 to $252,126 · 499 people
    $264,255
  4. Clin Nurse 4$204,060 to $264,591 · 20 people
    $272,414
  5. Nurse Pd$232,374 to $301,006 · 970 people
    $287,220
  6. Clin Nurse Or Adv Practice Spec 4Range not reported · 53 people
    Not reported
  7. Clin Nurse Or Adv Practice Spec 5Range not reported · fewer than 5 people
    Not reported

official range average total pay, full year. "Fewer than 5" means too few full-year people in that title to show.

Nurse practitioner and LVN pay at University of California, San Francisco

Counted on their own, kept out of the registered nurse figures on this page. Each group's name leads to its statewide overview. Range: the lowest to the highest step of the campus's contract wage tables, effective January 2025. Pay: average total pay of full-year staff, overtime included.1,2

NursesPeopleOfficial rangeAverage total pay
Registered nurses6,036$177,042 to $264,591$246,392
Nurse practitioners777$209,802 to $272,087$279,489
LVNs215Not reportedNot reported

Full-year nurse practitioners averaged $279,489, $33,097 more than registered nurses.

Does University of California, San Francisco pay registered nurses more than other employers in San Francisco County?

Average total pay of full-year registered nurses: University of California, San Francisco next to every employer in the county together, and the whole state.1

Full-year registered nurses at University of California, San Francisco earned $1,683 more than the San Francisco County average and $65,228 more than the California average.

Average registered nurse pay in San Francisco County compared to nearby counties

Average total pay of full-year registered nurses across all employers in each county that borders San Francisco County, and how much more or less it pays.1

San Francisco County Shades match the state map.

Where does University of California, San Francisco rank among California employers?

Every employer with at least 5 full-year registered nurses, by average total pay.1

All 72 California employers

University of California, San Francisco ranks 1st of 72, above the middle employer.

University of California, San Francisco
$100k$150k$200k$250k

Middle employer: $138,446

Each bar counts the employers whose average total pay falls in a $5,000 band. The dashed line marks the middle employer.

Pension and health cover at University of California, San Francisco

As reported by the university. Contributions are what the employer paid per full-year registered nurse, on top of wages.1

Pension formula
Not reported
the most common formula among University of California, San Francisco's registered nurses
Employer pension contribution
$17,597
average per year
Health, dental and vision
$13,345
average paid by the employer per year

Questions about registered nurse pay at University of California, San Francisco

What is the average registered nurse salary at University of California, San Francisco?

Registered nurses at University of California, San Francisco who worked the full year earned an average of $246,392 in 2025, overtime included. The middle registered nurse earned $239,395: half earned more, half less. The official pay range across its registered nurse titles runs from $177,042 to $264,591.

How much overtime do registered nurses at University of California, San Francisco earn?

Full-year registered nurses were paid an average of $11,665 in overtime in 2025. The middle one was paid $6,150: a few people with a lot of overtime pull the average up.

What is the starting salary for a registered nurse at UCSF?

$177,042 a year: the bottom of the range for University of California, San Francisco's Clin Nurse 1 title in the University of California's contract wage tables effective January 2025. Pay rises with steps and overtime; full-year registered nurses averaged $246,392 in total pay.

How much does a nurse practitioner make at UCSF?

Full-year nurse practitioners at University of California, San Francisco averaged $279,489 in total pay in 2025, overtime included, on an official range of $209,802 to $272,087.

More salaries in San Francisco County

Sources for the University of California, San Francisco figures

Every person who held a registered nurse position at University of California, San Francisco at any point in 2025 counts toward the headcount. Pay figures use only people who worked roughly the full year: those whose regular pay reached at least 90% of the bottom of their official range. Total pay is gross wages before tax, including overtime, lump sums and other pay. Averages lead; the median total pay is the middle person's, with half above and half below, and is less pulled by a few people with very high pay. Every figure covers at least 5 people.

  1. State Controller's Office, Government Compensation in California, 2025: positions, wages, pension formula and employer contributions as reported by the University of California for University of California, San Francisco.
  2. University of California and California Nurses Association, Registered Nurses (NX) contract, Appendix A: wage tables: each campus's hourly rates effective January 2025, lowest to highest step; yearly figures are the hourly rate times 2,088 hours, the tables' monthly rate times 12.
  3. University of California Health, Academic Health Centers: the six campuses with an academic health center: UC Davis, Irvine, Los Angeles, Riverside, San Diego and San Francisco.

How we read the data